Wednesday, April 15, 2020

The Spiritual Life - Topic Four, The Stages of Faith Development

The Spiritual Life - Topic Four
Stages of faith

Young children, below the age of 7  believe in Santa Claus, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, etc. Young children give up this belief in magical figures and so It seems odd that people's concrete thinking when it comes to a deity doesn’t  mature.

It is somewhat comical that when God is referred to as  "she" this upsets many people. Even further, people get upset when people are told that “God” is not a noun but a verb.

A person's conception of "God" as an anthropomorphic persona is a sign of their spiritual immaturity which hasn't moved much beyond what Fowler identified as Stage one and two and three.

Using Fowler's developmental model of faith (click the link above), what stage do you think you are in?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Print Friendly and PDF