Monday, January 24, 2022

Stages of worldview development

A key concept in the model of Spiritual Intelligence (SQ) is the stages of worldviews that people and cultures pass through on their way to maturity. McIntosh’s model has five stages: pretraditional, traditional, modern, postmodern, and post-postmodern.

McIntosh writes that about 30% of the American population are ensconced in the traditional worldview while about 50% are in the modern, and 20% in postmodern. Probably the percentages of Unitarian Universalists are skewed upward with larger percentages in the modern and postmodern and a small percentage in the post postmodern. If you are reading this you are more likely to be post postmodern.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Print Friendly and PDF