Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Quiz on stages of spiritual development

The stage of spiritual development which follows anguish, discouragement, depression, frustration, and anxiety is called;

  1. Midlife crisis
  2. Nervous breakdown
  3. The dawning
  4. The dark night of the soul.

The answer is in the comments.


  1. The correct answer is 3 The dawning. The upshot of anguish, anxiety, and depression is the realization that there must be a better way. With this dawning there is a turning from the path of the ego to the search on the path of the spirit.

  2. I wonder how many people get a psychiatric diagnosis and get medicated at this stage? I wonder how many people self medicate with alcohol, pills, pot, sex, gambling, etc.?

    We have no model for the spiritual crisis which you describe here. If we did, perhaps the guidance shared with people going through this dawning would be different.

  3. St. John Of The Cross called it the dark night of the soul. The explanation for how the dark night of the soul leads to the dawning makes a lot of sense. It is written in A Course In Miracles that the ego's tolerance for pain is very high. In AA they talk about "hitting bottom." It's often not until people hit bottom that it dawns on them that there is a better way.


Print Friendly and PDF